The Father

The Father

×
More details on View trailer

Book Now

Fri 18 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Fri 18 Jun 19:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Sat 19 Jun 13:30 Book (Auditorium SD)
Sat 19 Jun 19:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Sun 20 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Sun 20 Jun 19:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Mon 21 Jun 13:30 Book (Auditorium SD)
Mon 21 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Tue 22 Jun 13:30 Book (Auditorium SD)
Tue 22 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Wed 23 Jun 13:30 Book (Auditorium SD)
Wed 23 Jun 19:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Thu 24 Jun 13:30 Book (Auditorium SD)
Thu 24 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Fri 25 Jun 13:30 Book (Auditorium SD)
Sat 26 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Sun 27 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Mon 28 Jun 13:30 Book (Subs for Hard of Hearing - Auditorium SD)
Wed 30 Jun 16:45 Book (Auditorium SD)
Thu 1 Jul 20:00 Book (Auditorium SD)

An elderly man struggles with daily life as dementia tightens its hold on him. Anthony Hopkins delivers a devastating, heart-breaking performance.

Anne (Olivia Colman) is losing patience with her 80-year-old father, Anthony (Anthony Hopkins - Oscar & Bafta winner for Best Actor in this role), whose grip on reality is fading but who refuses to allow a carer to look after him. She’s moving to France and needs to find a carer.

What makes this depiction of dementia so bone-chillingly brilliant is that it tells the story from Anthony’s point of view. When he is confused, so is the audience such as when he suddenly doesn’t recognise his daughter who is played by another actress. There are constant tweaks to the layout and decor of his apartment. This sleight of hand is what cinema can do so well - empathise. Living in Anthony’s mind is a unique and unnerving experience.