Tolkien

Tolkien

×
More details on View trailer

Book Now

Fri 17 May 13:15 Book (Auditorium)
Fri 17 May 18:00 Book (Auditorium)
Sat 18 May 15:30 Book (Auditorium)
Sat 18 May 20:30 Book (Auditorium)
Sun 19 May 13:15 Book (Auditorium)
Sun 19 May 18:30 Book (Auditorium)
Mon 20 May 13:15 Book (Auditorium)
Mon 20 May 18:15 Book (Auditorium)
Tue 21 May 13:00 Book (Auditorium)
Tue 21 May 15:30 Book (Auditorium)
Wed 22 May 12:00 Book (Auditorium)
Wed 22 May 16:45 Book (Auditorium)
Thu 23 May 15:30 Book (Auditorium)
Thu 23 May 18:00 Book (Auditorium)
Fri 24 May 15:15 Book (Auditorium)
Sat 25 May 18:00 Book (Auditorium)
Sun 26 May 12:30 Book (Auditorium)
Mon 27 May 13:00 Book (Subs for HoH Auditorium)
Mon 27 May 20:30 Book (Auditorium)
Tue 28 May 15:45 Book (Auditorium)
Wed 29 May 20:00 Book (Auditorium)
Thu 30 May 18:00 Book (Auditorium)

The formative years of the orphaned author, J.R.R. Tolkien (Nicholas Hoult) as he finds friendship, love and artistic inspiration among a group of fellow outcasts at school.

This takes him into the outbreak of World War I, which threatens to tear the "fellowship" apart. These experiences would inspire Tolkien to write his famous Middle-Earth novels. Anthony Boyle, Tom Glynn-Carney and Patrick Gibson play Tolkien's schoolmates Geoffrey, Christopher and Robert, who became close friends with the author in college and even fought alongside him during the first world war.

During his time in combat (including Battle of the Somme which is impressively staged), Tolkien encounters dark and mythical visions that he experiences upon falling sick - visions that ultimately help inspire the writer to create Sauron, Mordor, and other aspects of Middle-earth.

The film explores deeper and other aspects rather than just a series of references to stories about hobbits etc, including his interest in language inspired by his meeting with a professor, nicely played by Derek Jacobi. The Finnish director Dome Karukoski sensitively brings all the elements together, and Nicholas Hoult is an outstanding rising star.