WINTER SEASON ON SALE NOW - Book Here.

Empire of Light

Sam Mendes | 2022 | 119 MINS
UK/USA
The ‘love letter to the movies’ genre is revived in this poignant, wonderfully acted drama about love, life and films. Starring Olivia Colman and Colin Firth.

FROM 2 Feb

Date and Times

Thu 02 Feb
15:30
Auditorium
SUBTITLED FOR HARD OF HEARING
Thu 02 Feb
20:15
Auditorium
Fri 03 Feb
12:00
Auditorium
Sat 04 Feb
15:15
Auditorium (Soc.Dist)
SOCIALLY DISTANCED SCREENING
Sun 05 Feb
17:45
Auditorium
Mon 06 Feb
20:45
Auditorium
Tue 07 Feb
13:00
Auditorium
Wed 08 Feb
13:15
Auditorium
Thu 09 Feb
17:30
Auditorium
Fri 03 Mar
15:30
Auditorium
Friends only until 13 Feb 2023 00:00
TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON
Sat 04 Mar
20:45
Auditorium
Friends only until 13 Feb 2023 00:00
TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON
Sun 05 Mar
20:00
Auditorium
Friends only until 13 Feb 2023 00:00
TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON
Mon 06 Mar
15:30
Auditorium
Friends only until 13 Feb 2023 00:00
SUBTITLED FOR HEARD OF HEARING
TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON
Tue 07 Mar
18:15
Auditorium
Friends only until 13 Feb 2023 00:00
TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON
Thu 09 Mar
13:15
Auditorium
Friends only until 13 Feb 2023 00:00
TICKETS AVAILABLE SOON

In Detail

A depressed cinema manager called Hilary, works at the Empire cinema on Margate seafront in 1981 as Britain swan-dives into recession, unemployment and widespread racism.

The staff at the Empire are family – of sorts – including pompous manager, Mr Ellis and dedicated projectionist Norman. The Empire has had to close two of its four screens and the entire upstairs bar due to falling ticket sales.

But then the Empire hires a new ticket-seller: Stephen, a young Black man who has an instant connection with Hilary and their relationship blossoms. The movie, thanks in great part to another astonishing performance by Colman, slowly casts a spell all its own, eventually conjuring another grand, if slightly odder, piece of fine art from a master craftsman.

SPECIAL OFFER:
EMPIRE OF LIGHT & SUSSEX ON THE BIG SCREEN TALK
FOR ONLY £13 (FRIENDS £10)

More details on

Special Offer: